I Declare you a Sucsessful Learner!

I was reading Michelle Newton’s blog about the goals for successful learners as stated in the Melbourne Declaration. She lists the goals which she has achieved in her learning. I found this interesting, as I am an early childhood educator and an early childhood student. I am on the forefront of change as the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) puts a standard of ‘learning is play’ and ‘holistic learning’ across Australia. The EYLF was inspired by the Melbourne Declaration – as was the new K-10 ACARA Australian Curriculum. Why are they so different? I dream of the day that schools in Australia will become less structured and allow for children’s interests to foster rather than this view that children must sit down and absorb teachers rants about mathematics and literacy. Why do we have such high expectations of students to obtain these specific outcomes? The EYLF and Australian Curriculum create successful learners according to the Melbourne Declaration – why can’t children play and have fun and learn that way for a few more years until they are ready to discipline themselves in their learning?  I love the vagueness of the EYLF – it allows the early childhood curriculum to be relevant in many different settings and contexts. Why can’t the Australian Curriculum be the same?

2 thoughts on “I Declare you a Sucsessful Learner!

  1. Em, I have this same issue with the education curriculums. I’ve been working as a Teacher’s Aide now for 6 years and love the Early Years Learning Framework and all it stands for; collaborative learning, co-operative partnerships, holistic learning and learning through play.I have researched the Australian Curriculum and it’s just plain boring!! Work, Work, Work!! The kids today need more!!

  2. I too experience a feeling of disconnectedness between the EYLF that we implement in Childcare/Kindy and the ACA of school. Even whilst undertaking my Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood) studies, it sometimes requires effort to translate the learning specifically to EYLF. I can understand why some children struggle moving from Early Childhood settings into the school system.

Leave a Reply

