iPads in Classrooms – The Bad

The preschool I work at has just had four iPads purchased for the two classrooms and their before and after school care programmes. After reading this article, about why iPads are not great in classrooms I can see where thier argument lies.

Especially the argument about iPads not teaching children how to use technology (why, because they can’t be changed greatly, and apps are more consumption based than creation based) resonated with me. I feel like this is the case when I put the iPads out – that said I often use them as a distraction – i.e. if a child needs to calm down, or if a child is the last one to be picked up from my after school care programme. They love this. I work in an early childhood environment, and I can see that the iPads are more mindless fun than constructive.

Leave a Reply

